Georgia law has child safety seat mandates depending on the child’s age, weight and height. Using the right kind of safety seat correctly can protect your child from serious auto accident injury.
Whether you are expecting a new baby or need a refresher for your toddler or preschooler, these are the key car seat laws to follow in Georgia.
Age and weight requirements
When your child is younger than 12 months and weighs less than 35 pounds, use a rear-facing infant seat. After 12 months, you can face your child forward if he or she weighs at least 20 pounds. However, many parents choose to retain the safer rear-facing position until their child reaches the seat’s weight limit.
Once that occurs, use a five-point harness that fits your toddler until 40 pounds and three years old. Make sure to follow the manufacturer’s weight and height requirements for your child’s car seat.
From age 4 to 8, your child should ride in a booster seat with the car’s regular seatbelt. When he or she reaches 57 inches tall and 80 pounds, the car’s seatbelt should fit correctly without the booster seat.
According to the National Highway and Traffic Safety Administration, up to 80% of children do not ride in a correctly installed car seat. If you are unsure about whether you have installed your child’s car seat correctly, you can attend an NHTSA seat check event in your area.
Abiding by these rules may keep your child safe in a catastrophic motor vehicle collision.