Workers’ compensation in Georgia sees changes this year

On Behalf of | Oct 4, 2019 | Workers' Compensation |

Workers’ compensation is one of the few guarantees when everything is thrown out of balance by an injury on the job. Georgia’s government requires employers to carry insurance that lets them pay for medical expenses and other needs during recovery after a workplace accident or illness.

The Peach State sees up to 40,000 workers’ compensation claims every year, ranging from slip-and-fall injuries on a business’ premises to serious trauma during or after industrial accidents. The nature of workplace injuries requires certain changes to be made in Georgia’s laws that allow further protections of employees.

One change in 2019 is temporary total disability coverage or TTD. Workers can receive up to two-thirds of their normal pay, capped at $675 per week if an accident results in his or her total disability. This also covers needs if an employer cannot offer lighter duty that an injured worker could cover while recovering.

There are higher amounts of temporary partial disability coverage, or TPD. Employees may receive up to $425 per week if a disability requires them to take a lower-paying position due to physical limits on them.

Earlier this decade, Georgia limited the time in which workers could receive compensation. Now, lifetime medical benefits due to disability on the job are available if a qualified doctor certifies they are necessary.

Workers who need to make a claim for compensation may seek the services of an attorney. A lawyer can help make an initial claim, retry a rejected claim or help injured workers determine their entitlements under the laws written in Atlanta.